True Islam

I think it’s time I shared my thoughts on a certain subject. I have hesitated in writing this post because I know that no matter what I say, there will always be people who want to twist my words and use them against me. But it also seems that in remaining silent, these same people will also blame me for not taking a stand. So given the choice, I would prefer to be blamed for my words rather than my silence.

First let me say that whenever innocent people are killed or injured, no matter where they are or who they, my heart hurts for them. It’s human nature to grieve for the suffering; I feel it’s especially strong in me, hence the reason I went into social work– to attempt to make a difference and  alleviate some of that pain.

So as you might imagine, my heart has been suffering along with everyone else in the country– and even the world– over the tragedy at the Boston marathon. Such a heinous act cannot be comprehended. I cannot imagine what it must have been like to have been there; to be one of the victims or family of the victims. By heart goes out to them.

In the midst of my own grief over this tragedy, something else has added to the heartache. Even before the suspects could be identified, people began blaming Islam, blaming Muslims. This act of terror could have been committed by anyone, but many people chose to begin pointing fingers. And then, even worse, it turned out they ARE Muslim, giving people even more reason to yet again blame Islam. As a Muslim, reading such accusations makes me feel that I myself am being blamed for this act of terror. Blaming Islam is like blaming me as a follower of Islam.

I cannot comprehend how anyone could be so malicious as to commit such acts of terror, let alone a Muslim. Yet it seems that in this country, people have learned to accuse Islam as a violent, malicious religion of suffering, oppression, and terror. As a follower of Islam, this hurts my heart deeply– not just because I feel accused myself, but because I know that this isn’t true.

Don’t get me wrong– I am not deaf and blind to the world. I know that there are people out there who call themselves Muslims who do in fact commit such atrocities. I am not doubting that. What I’m saying is that Islam does not support their actions. TRUE Muslims do not support their actions. Anyone who calls themselves Muslim, yet can kill innocent people and commit acts of terror and other violence are NOT Muslims– they are either hypocrites or they are people pretending to be Muslim, using a twisted and corrupted version of Islam to carry out their evil deeds.

I used to be completely baffled as to why anyone would blame Islam for the actions of such individuals. No one blames Christianity when Americans act in violence. Even when someone who calls themself a Christian commits atrocities and says they did it “for Jesus,” no one blames Christianity. But it’s because Americans know Christianity. They know plenty of Christians; many Americans in fact ARE Christian. So they know that Christianity does not support such acts. But Islam is easier to blame. Islam is unknown; and it’s easy to fear the unknown. It is easy to tell people it is something it’s not when they are not familiar with what it really is.

Anyone who has ever known a Muslim should understand that Islam is not what it is often made out to be. Millions of Americans would not be following Islam if it were a violent religion that supported acts of terror. Though I have always felt this to be true, I find that the deeper I get into Islam the more I see the evidence of this; the more I see that Islam truly IS a religion of peace, not war and violence. If you study the Quran and the Sunnah of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) — the stories of how he lived and what he taught– you will see that there is nothing in Islam that makes it okay to commit such violence. Such violence is condemned.

One of the reasons I started this blog was that I hoped to present people with a different face of Islam. That people might get to know me and get to know Islam for what it really is, and not for what its enemies claim it to be. I know there are some who will never be convinced. But for those who have an open mind and who will listen– I hope you can learn from myself and other true Muslims that we are not your enemy; we are your friends. And we stand with you in times of senseless atrocities that cause tragedy and loss. We are crying with you; our hearts are broken too. Maybe if we stand together as citizens of humanity, we can come through this and attempt to make the world a better place.

peace-dove-4

Photo credit: AlicePopkorn / Foter.com / CC BY-ND

Please note: Comments on this blog are moderated; and although I welcome earnest questions, I WILL NOT allow comments that espouse hatred. This is MY blog, and I wish it to be an environment of peace where people can come together in shared ideas, beliefs, and build interfaith and intercultural bridges. So don’t bother sharing your hatred– it will not be read.

About Meditating Muslimah

Sharing my experiences as a new Muslimah, thoughts on religion, things that inspire me, foods I love to make and eat, Islamic fashion, travel, and life in general!
This entry was posted in Islam and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to True Islam

  1. Thank you for this post. Although I am not religious myself, I enjoy reading different perspectives from reasonable and compassionate people.

  2. Assalamu’ alaikom. Thank you for speaking up and standing by these words. Have conviction and do not be afraid to speak up–especially if your thoughts are grounded upon a genuine desire to promote peace and to enlighten others.

    When I heard that the Boston bombing happened, I was terrified for the victims. I was terrified for the “blame game” that’ll happen right after. I was scared that Islam and Muslims in general would be pinpointed for this. As days passed by and more information on the perpetrators surfaced, I became scared even more because facts stated that they did grow up from a Muslim family. Of course, as a Muslim myself, I already understand that Islam is not to blame. However, I was scared because such facts might easily lead many non-Muslims to believe that indeed, Islam is to blame for this and these perpetruators have been influenced by their so-called “anti-democracy, hate-mongering religion”. 😦 It really truly breaks my heart to know of these things. I hope justice is delivered, and at the same time, I hope this bigotry ends.

  3. This is a great post.

    It is much easier to blame something we do not know, as it has always been human nature to fear the unknown and the dangers it can pose.

    I bought a copy of the Koran in order to learn more of Islam, and try to minimise any bias. I admit to not agreeing with every part of what is written. I am certain you could ask a follower of any religion if they agreed with every word that was written, or observed every requirement of their holy text, they would likely say no.

    A quote from a book I am reading rings very true: “Knowledge is not dangerous. Only the man is dangerous.” There will always be a minority who do misguided things, but they never represent the majority. Islam and its followers are the same, and people should strive to keep that first and foremost in their minds when they hear of such terrible events.

  4. layla says:

    I have to say this is one of the few blog posts on the subject that totally agree with!
    It makes me so sad when thing like this happen…when so called muslims ”fight in the name of allah” it gives the whole ummah a bad name!

    I’m a very proud 22 year old muslimah mashallah…I know what Islam truly mean and how peaceful a religion it really is, and it pains me to see how a persons actions can affect the way others see our deen.

    loved the blog post mashallah!

  5. halalhassan says:

    Great stuff! Keep it going!

  6. Thank you this is a very great post.

  7. amisul255 says:

    Mashallah!! Thank you for bringing light where there was darkness and stand up for those who could not say what is in their minds. You will truly be rewarded for your courage.

  8. naimavanswol says:

    Great post. I think you’re right about people not “knowing” Islam or Muslims. It’s the same when we judge different races. We sort of looking for an easy way to label and explain something that we see is different. Your blog is great because you’re helping to bridge understanding. Thanks.

Let me know what you think! (In English please)

