Sukhi’s Halal Meals

I have to share a great new find at Costco . . . fresh, halal family meals!

We got a Costco membership last November, and since then I’ve noticed that I always see quite a few Muslims there. This is not surprising, since they seem to carry more halal items than average grocery stores. The first time I saw something there, it was Sukhi’s Chicken Samosas, clearly marked with a halal certification on the package!

suhki's chicken biryani

Suhki’s Chicken Biryani — wish I would have taken a pic of the Tandoori Chicken we ate last night!

Yesterday, I discovered that my local Costco has now begun carrying more Sukhi’s

food items, including pre-prepared family meals. My husband and I love Indian food, so I thought these refrigerated meals would be a great option, especially considering I didn’t know what I was making for dinner that night and didn’t have time to thaw out any meat. I bought the Tandoori Spiced Chicken, Chicken Biryani, and  Lemon Rice.

I checked Sukhi’s website to make sure they were halal, since I didn’t see a halal certification on one of their products– the Chicken Curry. The other meat products did have halal certification. Not sure why this one didn’t– seems strange to me, but they do note on their website which ones are halal. I was disappointed not to be able to get the chicken curry . . .

Last night we enjoyed the Tandoori Spiced Chicken. It took only 3 minutes to heat up in the microwave (you can also heat on the stove), and the rice was also about the same time. There was plenty of food– we are only two people, so there was enough chicken and rice for lunch leftovers for both of us. The rice came in two packages,  and we only opened one for last night’s dinner, so we still have the other for another night.

I have to say, for pre-prepared meals, this was pretty awesome. The chicken was tender and juicy, and the rice was also great quality. The chicken is a little spicy, as was expected (it rates it 2 out of 3 peppers on the box), but I was able to handle it, and I am super sensitive to spicy foods– it wasn’t nearly as spicy as our local Indian restaurant!

About Meditating Muslimah

Sharing my experiences as a new Muslimah, thoughts on religion, things that inspire me, foods I love to make and eat, Islamic fashion, travel, and life in general!
This entry was posted in Food, Islam and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sukhi’s Halal Meals

  1. Totally going to try this out! Seems too good to be true for desi college students that can’t cook.

  2. I noticed that the lamb I purchased at Costco last weekend was halal. It was the lamb from Australia (labeled Kirkland). So if you eat lamb, you have another option.

Let me know what you think! (In English please)

