My Conversion Story Coming Soon . . .

So I know I’ve been promising for a while to share with my readers about my conversion, as well as why I chose to wear hijab. Inshallah, I will share those very soon. I am working on writing my conversion story now and will probably share it in several parts.

In the meantime, I came across a few videos that I thought were very interesting and relevant. Some of you may have heard of the Imam Yusuf Estes. He was a Christian preacher who converted to Islam, and posts a lot of his speeches on YouTube. I came across one of his videos recently, in which a Christian asked him why he converted to Islam — what was the pivotal point for him. His account of how he got to Islam is actual very similar to my own, in that he did a lot of research on the history of the Bible and where it came from. I think it can be summed up in 3 phases:

  1. Realizing there were faults in Christianity
  2. Submitting to God and asking for his guidance
  3. Discovering Islam and realizing it was what he already believed in his heart

Not only was this path similar to my own, but there was one distinct thing that was identical in our stories. About halfway through the video (minutes 14:00 – 16:30), he discusses how when he submitted himself to God and asked for His guidance, he felt an urge to kneel and tough his head to the ground; to prostrate in submission to God. I felt this same urge, at a point when I didn’t know that those actions were exactly what Muslims did every day, five times a day. And that the words we spoke, asking God for guidance, were also essentially repeated in those same daily prayers.

Anyway, I thought I’d share two of his videos here. The first one below is the story I am talking about. The second is actually his entire conversion story.

 

 

 

 

 

About Meditating Muslimah

Sharing my experiences as a new Muslimah, thoughts on religion, things that inspire me, foods I love to make and eat, Islamic fashion, travel, and life in general!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Islam and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Conversion Story Coming Soon . . .

  1. I couldn’t wait to hear your story…

Let me know what you think! (In English please)

